Man Booker Prize Long List 2013

I have been away for so many months that I am absolutely out of the loop in knowing, let alone reading, what is currently out there that might be chosen for the Booker Long List. The announcement will be made on 23rd July and I am watching this space in eager anticipation, hoping that the judges will not be on some quixotic quest to find a ‘readable’ story, a ‘page-turner’ or something so abstruse that one would only read it because it was on the list.

I don’t even know who has written what this year. I spent my time abroad, when I was reading at all, with a Kobo eReader reading the classics – the classic writers for each country I was in, no less. Which was Australia (Patrick White and Thomas Keneally); New Zealand (Janet Frame and Katherine Mansfield); America (Armistead Maupin, I started off in Los Angeles and San Francisco, Mark Twain, Edith Wharton, as I was going to Boston, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Barbara Kingsolver, Eudora Welty and Andrew Ross Sorkin – Too Big to Fail ); Canada (Richard Ford).

I also had some classic detective fiction, some historical fiction and my Lent Reading which included Ben Quash Abiding (The Archbishop of Canterbury’s Lent Book); Jonathan Sacks The Great Partnership – God, Science and the Search for Meaning; Francis Spufford Unapologetic – Why despite everything Christianity still makes surprising emotional sense.

So bring on the new writing – I am waiting to be guided by the Booker!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

